ページの画像
PDF
ePub

Mr. Marryat's account of the manufactories in more recent times of porcelain at Chelsea, Bow, Derby, Worcester, Wales, Bristol, and other places, comprises a good deal of curious information, which, if not altogether novel, is useful and in place.

The "Glossary of Terms" will be valuable to the antiquary. The discovery at Salona (p. 251), proving that amphora? were used for funereal purposes, can be paralleled by examples in our own country. The Greybeard (p. 252) may be further illustrated by Mr. Chaffers's paper in the Archaeological Society's Journal, vol. v. The definition of the Terra SigiUata (p. 290) may probably be modified by comparison with the views put forth in our Magazine for February, 1845. It is also an error to say this kind of pottery is never found in tombs. Tiles (p. 291) were, among other uses, applied by the Romans to the construction of

tombs. At Etaples, in the Pas de Calais and at Lingfield, in Surrey, encaustic tiles are used for sepulchral inscriptions and heraldic designs. Under the head Kiln the curious discoveries of the late Mr. Artis in our own country should be noticed. The small bottle on p. 234 (fig. 72) belongs to the period of Roman domination in Egypt. Specimens analogous to 78 on the same page, having three small bottles or cups joined together, are also found among collections of Roman pottery.

The volume closes with a large collection of fac-similes of potters'marks, got together chiefly by the author himself. These stamps will be found of great use to the collector, as they will assist at once in deciding the parentage of pottery when locality is questionable or unknown, and they add considerably to the value of this interesting and very beautiful work as a book of reference.

THE COLLEGE PLATE AT OXFORD. {With two Plates.)

WHATEVER works of ancient art in the precious metals were in existence in this country in the early part of the seventeenth century had a narrow escape from destruction during the arbitrary requisitions which attended the struggle between Charles the First and his Parliament. And this was more particularly the case at the University of Oxford, which suffered in succession from both parties. We are informed by Anthony a. Wood that on the 14th Sept. 1642, the Lord Say, then newly made Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire by the Parliament's authority, came from his house at Broughton near Banbury, and, having taken up his lodging at the Star inn, went the same night, late, with a guard of soldiers, and torches, to New College, to search for plate and arms; then to Queen's, where a guard of soldiers was set all night, not suffering any one to pass the gates. The next morning he visited Magdalene and other colleges on the like business, and the trunks of Dr. Fell, Dean of Christ Church, having been discovered in the house of

Geht. Mao. Vol. XXXIV.

Mrs. Weeks, the widow of a brewer in the parish of St. Ebbe's, were carried off to the Star. The same night they found the plate of Christ Church hid in the walls behind wainscoting and in the cellar, and carried it away, in a great cowle, between two men, to the said inn.

Wood adds, that on the 21st Sept. the colleges had their plate restored, with the exception of Christ Church, and its Dean, and University. The plate of these parties was carried away by Lord Say; but that of the other colleges was given back to them, on the condition it should be forthcoming at the Parliament's appointment, and not in the least employed against them.

But the university was presently placed under other influences; for at the close of the following month, after the battle of Edge Hill, the king established his court at Oxford.

On the 3d Jan. 1642-3, there came into Oxford twelve or more carts, partly laden with the goods of Prince Rupert and partly with the implements of the royal'mint, then removed Z

from Shrewsbury. The moneyers also brought some store of silver with them, but this furnished only a brief supply, for on the 10th of the same month the king's letters were issued to all colleges and halls for their plate to be brought to New Inn, where the mint was established, there to be turned into money. This requisition was generally complied with,* and wa9 soon after extended from the colleges to most housekeepers and private persons. The officers charged with this business were Sir William Parkhurst, knight, and Thomas Bushell, late farmer of the mines royal in the principality of Wales. We were lately favoured with a sight of the inventory of the plate taken from Wadham college, and the receipt given for its delivery. The several pieces were enumerated under the two classes of white plate and gilt plate, and their total value is estimated in the receipt, of which we were permitted to take the following copy:—

Jan.the 2G, 1642. ReC'of the Warden & fellowes\ wbt wht of Wadham Colled- Oxford, Mb. oz. d. in plate by them lent for/100 01 15 his Ma"" use & service, viz'l In white plate . . . . I In Guilt plate .... 023 04 00 Wm. Parkhurst. Thomas Bushkll.

In the King's letter which called for the Contribution, promise was made that the plate should be duly replaced: but this condition, it is almost needless to add, was never fulfilled.

But though the colleges no doubt lost on this occasion the bulk of their ordinary and most useful plate, they seem to have succeeded in preserving many of the most precious relics, either by secreting them, or by redeeming them for contributions in money. Some of these are well known for their great beauty and curiosity, whilst others have been recently drawn forth from a long repose by the visit of the Archtcologiunl Institute to the university,—upon which occasion these ancient treasures were shewn with great courtesy, and examined with much admiration. We

have little doubt that some member or members of the Institute most versed in ancient art will hereafter supply more detailed notices of their dates and character. On the present occasion we can do little more than make a cursory and hasty enumeration of the most remarkable objects.

At All Souls' College are preserved a large number of articles of ancient plate, of which the most celebrated is the salt-cellar, which i3 said to have belonged to the founder, Archbishop Chichele. Besides this, there are several other fine salt-cellars, cups, and tankards; a pair of silver-gilt chalices, paten, and alms-dish; and a box of very rich fragments of jewellery preserved under the name of "the founder's jewels."

One fragment is more than usually interesting as a specimen of heraldic enamelling. It resembles the curved lid of a modern water-ewer. On its inner surface is an impaled shield, viz. Gules, semee of trefoils and two barbels addorsed or (Barr); and Or, a lion rampant sable. ( ) The other surface is diapered fretty in five divisions, the first of the coat of Navarre; the second those of Grenada and Barr, placed alternately; the third of France and Navarre; the fourth of the lion rampant and barbels, placed alternately; the fifth of France. A knob is enamelled with France and Navarre.

At Corpus Christi College were exhibited thesilver-gilt salt-cellars and cups of the founder, Bishop Fox, of most elegant design and exquisite workmanship; a solid gold cup and paten; a chalice, paten, and a pair of almsdishes; a large and massive silver punch-bowl; a dozen silver-gilt spoons of antique design; and various cups and tankards, some of which are assigned to an older date than the foundation of the college. One of the saltcellars is engraved in Skelton's Oxonia Illustrata, plate 73; and the chalice in Shaw's Specimens of Ancient Furniture. The latter, which was also given by the founder Bishop Fox, is of silver

filt, and six inches in height. The nob in the centre of its stem is engraved with quatrefoil flowers, and patterns resembling traceried windows. On its base, which is hexagonal, are engravings of Christ on the cross, Saint Jerome, Saint Margaret, and three other saints.

* Wood says, "whereupon all sent except New Inn j" but the mint being at New Inn that community had no occasion to send. It may be suspected with great probability that the word " except " it a misprint for some other word or words.

The salt was evidently made for Bishop Fox, as his device of the pelican is repeated in all its parts. Its form is somewhat like an hour-glass, the base, bowl, and cover each presenting six slanting sides, which are all chased in relief upon a blue enamelled background. The central knob is similarly ornamented, but with a green background, the design of Christ crowning the church being repeated in it several times, its compartments being divided at the angles by rampant lions in high relief.

AtT/BiNiTY College is a very beautiful chalice of the 15th century, which was brought by the founder, Sir Thomas Pope, from St. Alban's abbey. The knob exactly resembles in its ornaments that of the chalice at Corpus Christi college before described; but the remainder of the design is much more elaborate, as may be seen by comparing the two in the plate of Mr. Shaw, where they are engraved together. Round the cup and the base is the same inscription, " Culicem salmis capiam et nomen Domini invocabo."f

At Queen's College the most remarkable article is a drinking-horn, of which we extract the annexed engraving from Skclton's Oxonia. It Has also been engraved by Mr. Shaw, in whose work it suggested the following remarks to the Editor, Sir Samuel R. Meyrick:

"Horns were greatly in fashion among our ancestors. They were of four kinds— those for drinking only, those appropriated to the chace, those used for summoning the people, and those for various purposes, and consequently of a mixed character. There is one preserved at Corpus Christi college, Cambridge, presented about the year 1.347 by its founder John Goldcorne, alderman of the gild of Corpus Christi, which seeems to have been intended both for drinking and souuding. Queen's college was founded in 1340 by Robert Egglesfield, confessor to queeu

Philippa ; and, as tradition states this horn to have been her Majesty's present, it may account for.the singular custom, that, according to the statutes he framed, the society was to be called together by the sound of a horn. The trumpet which is now used for that purpose is not older than the time of Charles the First, which is also the earliest date that can be assigned to the eagle which now forms the cap of the horn. It may therefore be allowable to conjecture that this horn, which is of the buffalo, may have been originally employed for summoning the society, and that such order in the statutes was a compliment to the royal donor. Of course for this purpose the stopper was removed and a mouth-piece inserted in its place.

"That it was also intended for a drinking horn the word UJftCCf nf on the silver gilt bands which encircle it, and the style of which mark the period of Edward the Third, as well as its traditional name poculum caritatis, sufficiently evince. It is thus used on the founder's day and on all occasions of rejoicing."

Whether Sir S. R. Meyrick was right in his suggestion that this horn was ever the summoning horn of Queen's College we are unable to decide: but even the silver trumpet which was formerly used for that purpose is now a relic of the days that are past, and the trumpet which is now in use is one of inferior metal. At Queen's College were also exhibited a communion service presented by the Provost in 1637, and various old cups and tankards.

At New College a very splendid exhibition was made, consisting of several elaborate silver-gilt cups, others of cocoa-nut mounted with silver, and other articles, of which we regret we cannot give a better account. One of the finest pieces is a Salt-cellar given by Walter Hit, warden of the college in 1493. It is of silver-gilt, with open work in its cover bucked by blue enamel. There is nothing very elegant in its contour, which consists of a twisted stem between a circular bowl and base ; but the various bands of ornament are beautiful, and exquisitely chased. The lid is spiral, and ornamented with crockets, which are based by little castellots. The whole height is 14J inches. At the foot of the stem is an inscription containing the name of the donor, and a Latin motto. There is an engraving of this salt made in 1833 by Mr. Henry Shaw in his Specimens of Ancient Furniture.

f We conjecture that this is the inscription, seeing only the first and last words in the engraving: but we may observe that Mr. Shaw generally fails to give his friends a proper account of such parts of his subjects aa are not shown by his drawings.

The silver seal of this college was also shewn, engraved very admirably in the time of the founder, Bishop Wykeham.

At Oriel College is preserved the vessel, whatever may have been its use, which is represented in our second engraving. It is of silver gilt, and 7J inches in length to the bottom of the cross; its width at the base is 3J inc. and its greatest width at the top ia 5f inc. The ball and cross with which it is surmounted appear to be modern additions. The crowned E on this cup has been connected with the name of King Edward the Second, one of the founders of Oriel College; but Sir Samuel Meyrick, in Shaw's Ancient Furniture, states his opinion that the ornaments are of a style not earlier than the middle of the fifteenth century, and quotes the judgment of William Twopeny, esq. to the same effect. He then proceeds to suggest that the initial may refer to Prince Edward, the son of King Henry the Sixth, which he proposes as reconcileable

with the appearance of what he considers to be the Lancastrian collar of esses. But the chain of linked esses here engraved does not really resemble the English collar of esses, in which the letters are always ranged in a parallel line. It corresponds to that attributed to the order of Cyprus, founded by the family of Lusignan; to which, or some other foreign order, it may have alluded.* It is therefore possible that this cup is not of English workmanship.

At this college are also a cocoa-nut cup, set in silver-gilt, presented by Bishop Carpenter, the provost, in 1470, and a stand for the same, made of part of a gourd, and set to correspond with the cup. These are engraved in Skelton's Oxonia, plate 37.

We must not conclude this hasty enumeration of the ancient collegiate treasures of Oxford, without some allusion to the magnificent crosiers of Wykeham and Fox, which are preserved by their foundations of New College and Corpus Christi. The former is engraved in Skelton's Oxonia, plate 45, and the latter by Shaw, in his Ancient Furniture, plate 71. Both are in the most perfect state of preservation, and must be classed among the finest existing specimens of mediieval art in the precious metals.

NOTES, CORRESPONDENCE, AND LITERATURE OF THE MONTH.

Library Catalogue of the British MuseumLiterature of the past MonthRelics excavated at Nineveh—New General Record OfficeNetv Collar and Badge of the Mayor of BathThe Koh-i-Noor diamond.

An interesting debate or rather conversation took place in the House of Commons on the 1st July on a proposition for a grant for new buildings at The British Museum. It embraced several topics of public interest, and amongst others, the Catalogue. We will give the report of what took place on that subject as it appears in the Times.

"Sir H. Verney strongly urged the completion of a new finding catalogue.

"Mr. Hume said that if they waited for the catalogue of Mr. Panizzi he supposed they might wait until 1895 for its completion. (A laugh.)

"Mr. F. Maule, in justice to Mr. Panizzi, must say that malting a catalogue of such a library as that of the British Museum was one of the most difficult things possible, and that no man was better adapted to the task than Mr. Panizzi. (Hear, hear.) There was, indeed,

* See the references contained in Mr. J. G. Nichols's remarks on the origin of the Collar of Esses, in the Gentleman's Magazine for May 1842, p. 481.

[graphic][merged small][ocr errors]
« 前へ次へ »