After We Die: The Life and Times of the Human Cadaver

前表紙
Georgetown University Press, 2010/11/11 - 384 ページ

What will become of our earthly remains? What happens to our bodies during and after the various forms of cadaver disposal available? Who controls the fate of human remains? What legal and moral constraints apply? Legal scholar Norman Cantor provides a graphic, informative, and entertaining exploration of these questions. After We Die chronicles not only a corpse’s physical state but also its legal and moral status, including what rights, if any, the corpse possesses.

In a claim sure to be controversial, Cantor argues that a corpse maintains a “quasi-human status" granting it certain protected rights—both legal and moral. One of a corpse’s purported rights is to have its predecessor’s disposal choices upheld. After We Die reviews unconventional ways in which a person can extend a personal legacy via their corpse’s role in medical education, scientific research, or tissue transplantation. This underlines the importance of leaving instructions directing post-mortem disposal. Another cadaveric right is to be treated with respect and dignity. After We Die outlines the limits that “post-mortem human dignity” poses upon disposal options, particularly the use of a cadaver or its parts in educational or artistic displays.

Contemporary illustrations of these complex issues abound. In 2007, the well-publicized death of Anna Nicole Smith highlighted the passions and disputes surrounding the handling of human remains. Similarly, following the 2003 death of baseball great Ted Williams, the family in-fighting and legal proceedings surrounding the corpse’s proposed cryogenic disposal also raised contentious questions about the physical, legal, and ethical issues that emerge after we die. In the tradition of Sherwin Nuland's How We Die, Cantor carefully and sensitively addresses the post-mortem handling of human remains.

 

レビュー - レビューを書く

LibraryThing Review

ユーザー レビュー  - MichaelWoodhead - LibraryThing

The sub-title of this book is ‘The Life and Times of the Human Cadaver’. Indeed, this is a fascinating and in-depth informative autopsy of the corpse through the ages. Did you know, for example, that ... レビュー全文を読む

目次

Introduction
1
Status and Rights of the Cadaver
9
Disposition of Human Remains
73
The Multiple Roles of a Cadaver
141
Abuses of the Cadaver What Does Decency Demand?
237
Notes
303
Bibliography
333
List of Cases
351
Index
355
著作権

他の版 - すべて表示

多く使われている語句

著者について (2010)

Norman L. Cantor is a distinguished professor emeritus at Rutgers Law School, Newark, who taught in the fields of constitutional law, contracts, and bioethics. He has published widely in legal and medical journals on the topic of the legal handling of dying medical patients, and is the author of three books: Making Medical Decisions for the Profoundly Mentally Disabled, Advance Directives and the Pursuit of Death with Dignity, and Legal Frontiers of Death and Dying.

書誌情報