« 前へ次へ »
The bridge over the Wandle at this place was erected at the expense of Queen Elizabeth in 1602. It was widened, and in a great measure rebuilt in 1757.
On the hills on each side of Wandsworth, distinguished by the appellations of East and West Hill, are several good bouses, which command fine views over the River Thames, the metropolis, and great part of Middlesex. At West Hill, near Lord Spencer's park, is the handsome villa built by Mr. Gibson of Hackney, for the late John Anthony Rucker, Esq. and now the property of his nephew, which, from its elevated situation, is a c. nspicuous object in the neighbourhood, and enjoys a delightful prospect.
The bamlet of Garrett, situated between Wandsworth and Tooting, is in the former parish, and is noted for having been the scene of a mock election which took place there many years upon the meeting of every new parliament, when several well. known characters in low life appeared as candidates for the burough of Garrett, as it was called; being furnished with fine clothes and gay equipages for the occasion by the neighboring publicans, whose interest it was to encourage the frolic. This piece of burlesque, which furnished Foote with the subject of lis comedy intituled the Mayor of Garrett, was performed for the last time after the general election in 1796.
In all the ancient records WIMBLEDON is described as a grange or farm within the manor of Mortlake, which, from the time of the Conquest, belonged to the see of Canterbury, till Archbishop Cranmer exchanged it for other lands with King Henry VIII. By that monarch it was soon afterwards granted to Thomas Cromwell, Earl of Essex; and on his attainder it was settled apon Queen Catherine Parr for her life. Cardinal Pole obtained a grant of it from Queen Mary, whose successor first gave it to Sir Christopher Hatton; and again in her thirty-second year to Sir Thomas Cecil, afterwards Earl of Exeter, in exchange for an estate in Lincolnshire. The Earl left this estate to his third son, Sir Edward, who was created Viscount Wimbledon and Baron of Putney.
Immediately after his decease in 1638 the manor was sold by his "representatives to the Earl of Holland, and others, as trustees for Queen Henrietta Maria. In the inventory of the jewels and pictures of Charles I. the mansion at Wimbledon is mentioned among the houses belonging to the Crown. On the sale of the crown-lands this manor was purchased by Adam Baynes, Esq. and soon afterwards became the property of General Lambert. This officer, as we are informed by Coke, author of a work intituled The Detection, “after he had been discarded by Cromwell., betook himself to Wimbledon House, where he turned florist, and had the finest tulips and gilliflowers that could be got for love or money : yet in these outward pleasures he nourished the ambition which he entertained before he was cashiered by Cromwell” Lambert was not only a cultivator of flowers; he excelled also in painting them, and specimens of his skill in that art remained for some years at Wimbledon. At the Restoration this estate reverted to the Queen Dowager, but“ it smelt so strong of a rebel,” says the Magna Britannia,* that it was soon sold by her to the trustees of Gcorge Digby, Earl of Bristol. Of his widow it was purchased by the Earl of Danby, afterwards created Duke of Leeds. At his death this estate was sold under a decree in Chancery in 1717 to Sir Theodore Janssen, who becoming deeply involved in the South Sea scheme, it was again put up to sale, and purchased for 15,0001. by the Duchess of Marlborough. Her Grace gave it to her grandson, John Spencer, Esq. whose descendant, 'Earl Spencer, is the present proprietor.
Wimbledon House, rebuilt by Sir Thomas Cecil in 1588, is described as a magnificent structure, " which being placed on the side slip of a rising ground renders it to stand of that height, that betwixt the basis of the brick-wall of the lower court and the hall-door there are five severall assents, consisting of threescore and ten stepps, which are distinguished in a very graceful manner.” Fuller says, that by some the house was thought to equal Nonsuch, if not to exceed it: and Swift, in one of his Letters,
calls it much the finest place about London.* It was taken down by the Duchess of Marlborough, who erected a new edifice upon or near the site, after a design by the Earl of Pembroke. This house was accidentally burnt down in 1785. Some of the offices only being preserved from the flames, were fitted up and used for several years as an occasional residence by the noble proprietor. A new mạnsion has since been erected a little to the north-west of the former building, from the designs of the late Mr. Holland. The situation of this structure, which was completed in 1801, is particularly advantageous, having towards the north a beautiful home prospect of the park, and an extensive view over the county of Surrey to the south. The park, which contains 1200 acres, exhibits a pleasing variety of surface, and was planted and laid put with great taste by Brown. To the north of the house it is adorned with a sheet of water that covers fifty acres.
In the church is interred Sir Richard Wynne, Bart. who died in 1649, at the manor-hcuse here, which he held as trustee for Queen Henrietta Maria. He was gentleman of the privy-chamber to Charles I. whom le attended in his romantic journey into Spain, to visit his intended consort. Şir Richard drew up an account of his travels, which was printed, among other scarce tracts, by Hearne,
On the south side of the chancel is a small chapel or aisle, erected as a þurial-place for the family of Lord Wimbledon. In the centre is the monument of that nobleman, an altar-tomb of black marble, over which a viscount's coronet is suspended by a chain from the cieling. A long inscription occupies the four sides of the tomb and the ledge which surrounds the upper stone. Lord Wimbledon followed the profession of arms, and is characterized
• A very accurate and minute survey of this house and premises was taken ly order of Parliament in 1649, the original of which is deposited in the Augmentation Onice. It is printed in the Archælogia, Vol. X. There are evo rare prints of Wimbledon House by Winstanley, one of which, dated 1678, and exhibiting a view of the principal front with tbe five ascents, bas þeen copied for Lysuns' Environs, Vol. I.