« 前へ次へ »
chapels, monastic institutions, 897 ; / St. Chad's church, Stafford, 896.
St. Michael, parish of, 812 ; remarka-
vision of, 717 ; churches and cha- St. Modwen, the celebrated, some ac-
nicipal government, ib. ; castle,
meeting houses, ib.
Taienbill, parish and village of, 760,
803; former lords of the chief manor
761 ; parish church of, ib; ham.
less of, ib. ; origin of the name,
college at, ib.
ib.; birth place of Gilbert Sheldon, The Blue bills, 1035.
archbishop of Canterbury, ib. Theophania, daughter of Thos. Ko-
ningsby, her monument, 802.
ib. ; religious foundations, ib.; Thorpe Cloud hill, 732.
school, 948; alms house, ib. Thorpe Constantine, village, 821 ;
berland in 1715, 1070; singular Tixal Hall, seat of Thomas Clifford,
Tollet, Mr. agriculturist, 931.
Totmanslow, hundred of, 955.
-- village, 1173.
Toulmio, Di. Geo. Hoggart, an ele.
gant writer, 1023.
Townshend, Marquis, 824.
of Mr. Monckton, forinerly be. seat, ib. 936 ; ancient nunnery, ib.
times and places, 1054, 10.13; Dr.
Plot's opinion respecting, ib.
Trent, the river, 730.
TUTBURY, Mary Queen of Scots, | Warwick, Earl of, 887.
residence of, 728; free borough Wassailing, an ancient custom, 804.
ib. ; market day, ib. ; population,
Wednesfield village, 843; battle at,
between Edward the elder and the
barrow, ib. i church, 828; Little
Weston village, 1025; Thor's cave,
where the Druids are supposed to
have offered human sacrifices,
poetically described by Dr. Dar-
West Bromwich, 840 ; Sandwell
park, ib. ; birth place of Walter
| Whiston, 814.
White Ladies, 1154.
| Whitgrave Thos. Esq. his tomb, 867;
protector of Charles II. ib.
Whichnour, church of, 780.
Wilkes, Dr. historian, 841.
Willowbridge, 928; its water spring,
Wingfield, Lord Cromwell, buried
at llam church, 1037; bis epitaph
food and wages, 999.
van station, 829; tenuple, ib. ; 909.
Wirley and Essington (anal, 736.
Wollaston, Wm. a distinguished wri.
835; manufactures, 836; popula. Wotton-under-Weever-hill, township,
Wotton, a Ronan via dicinalis, 923.
WOLVERHAMPTON town, 857 ; no-
ib. ; trade, 8.58 ; population, 859 ; | Wright, Richard, his museum, 806. carials passing near, ib.; collegiate Wrottesley, village, 864; its antichurch, ib. ; St. John's, 861 ; quities, ib. ; enormous stones, 865; chapels, ib. ; population of the peculiar fruit, ib. parish, ib.; free school, ib.; two wolfruna, the pious relict of Ald. charity schools, ib. ; hospital, ib.; helm, Duke of Northampton, workhouse, ib. ; curious customs 857. of, ib.
OF TÅE PRINCIPAL
BOOKS, MAPS, AND VIEWS,
THAT HAVE BEEN PUBLISHED IN Illustration of the Topography, Antiquities, fc. of the
COUNTY OF SURREY.
Towards the middle of the seventeenth century, Sir Edward Bysshe, a native of Surrey, announced his intention of publishing a Survey, or History of this County. It is certain that he made some collections for the purpose as some fragments of them are interspersed in his notes on Upton De studio militari, Lond. 1654. fol.; but the office of Garter King at Arms, to which the Parliament appointed him in 1645, though five years before, he, with other members, had voted it illegal, diverted him from the prosecution of his design.
The plan of a History of Surrey was, however, resumed before the death of Sir Edward Bysshe by Aubrey, who was furnished with a requisition to all justices, mayors, and other officers in general, to assist him in making an actual survey of the county, and to give him free access to all such public registers and other books as might promote the geographical and historical description of the kingdom, which Ogilby was authorized by the royal warrant to prepare. Aubrey accordingly perambulated the whole county, and his labours were revised, corrected, and published by Dr. Rawlinson, under the title of: “ The Natural History and Antiquities of the County of Surrey, begun in the year 1673, by John Aubrey, Esq. F. R. S. and continued to the present time. Illustrated with proper sculptures, Lond. 1719.” 5 vols. 8vo. A second edition appeared in 1723, brought down to that time, by Dr. Rawlinson.
A few years afterwards appeared the “ Antiquities of Surrey, collected from the most ancient Records, with soine Account of the present State and Natural History of that County. By N. Salmon, LL. B. Lond. 1736.” 8vo.
Such were the only publications that had appeared respecting this district in general, when the late Rev. Mr. Manning began to form collections for a work which should truly deserve the name of a County History. On this undertaking, for which he was eminently qualified by his critical skill in the Saxon language, and his general learning, he bestowed unwearied attention for thirty years, till ihe loss
of sight suspended, and death put a final period to, his labours. He had formed a plan differing in one respect from that of any preceding writer on the subject. He began with the Terra Regis in Domes day; and after illustrating it by a commentary, he intended to deduce the history of those particular estates to modern times. He had hunself drawn a map of all the places in, the County mentioned in that venerable record, (which is given in the first volume,) and had caused to be engraved on copper a fuc simile of the whole of it which relates to this county ; he had written an introduction ; he had drawn up and transcribed nearly all this part. For the rest of the county he had made Jarge collections; but these were left merely in the form of notes, with the exception of a very few parishes, which he had begun to digest. In this situation were his papers at the time of his death, when an application was made to the late Mr. Gough to superintend the publication, but declined by him. Under these circumstances the task was undertaken by William Bray, Esq. a gentleman particuJarly well qualified for the task, froin having attended from an early part of life to the history of bis native soil, and the opportunities which he possessed of giving considerable information, as well from his own collections as from the British Museum, and who has personally visited nearly all the churches in the county. Under his superintendence the first and second volumes have appeared, under the title of “The History and Antiquities of the County of Surrcy, compiled from the best and most authentic Historians, valuable to cords and Manuscripts in the Public Ofices and Libraries, and in Private Hands. With a fac simile copy of Domesday, engrared on thirteen plates. By the late Rev. Owen Manning, S. T. B. rector of Peperharrow, and cicar of Godalming in thut County. Continued to the Present Time. By Willian Bray of Shire, Esq. Fellow and Treasurer of the Society of Antiquaries of London. Pol. I. 1804. Vol. II. 1809." folio. These volumes are illustrated witb numerous views and plans; and the third, which will complete the work, is expected to appear early in 1813.
" General View of the Agriculture of the County of Surrey. Drawn up for the Board of Agriculture, and Internal Improve. ment. By William Stevenson, 1309." 8vo. With a map shewing the different soils of the county.
" A Report on the State of the Heaths, Commons, and Conimoa Fields," 410. was drawn up by Mr. James Malcolm in 1794, by desire of the Board of Agriculture. The same writer has published
“A Compendium of Modern Husbandry, principally written during a Surrey of the County of Surrey, made at the desire of the Board of Agriculture. By James Muicolm. Lond. 1805.” In 3 vols. 8vo.
Skrine, in his Account of the Rivers of Great Pritain, has introduced descriptions of some of the most prominent scenes in this
A pretty copious account of such of the parishes of Surrey as lie in the immediate vicinity of the metropolis will be found in "The Exvirons of London, being an Historical Account of the Towps, Fit