« 前へ次へ »
Ministers.” “The papers of the family contain many curious and original documents of those times, and a large collection of songs and ballads relative to the rump parliament, which have never yet been published. The stair-case is rich in painted glass. Many of the coats of arms were brought from Whalley abbey".” In different apartments are several fine paintings by the best Flemish masters, and many excellent productions of the present English school. I greatly regret that I cannot, at present, give a list even of the principal of these, but as I shall have occasion hereafter, in the account of Yorkshire, to relate some further particulars concerning this part of the county, I hope then to be able to render more justice to the place, and to its liberal possessor. “The hall, forty feet long, is furnished with many antiquities; such as the Ribchester inscription of the XXth legion, celts, fibulae, different pieces of armour, and particularly a small spur found in the apartment called King Henry the Sixth's, at Waddington Hall. Among the rest is a complete suit of buff, worn by one of the family, a sufferer for his loyalty in the great rebellion+.” Dr. Whitaker states, that the only vestige of the forest laws preserved here is the Stirrup, through which every dog, excepting those belonging to the lords, must pass. He also mentions the following portraits. A head of Jean de Paresa, by Velasquez, which is esteemed one of the best portraits, by that master, in England. Another of Edward Parker, Esq. who was bowbearer of Bowland about 1690, and who appears in the costume of his office, with a staff tipped with a buck's horn, and a bugle-horn tucked under his girdle. At the south-west extremity of the township of Clayton-lesMoors is DUNKENHAIGH, which appears to have been possessed - by
* History of Whalley, p. 214.
by a family of that name at a remote period. It was purchased towards the end of Elizabeth's, or beginning of James the First's reign, by Sir Thomas Walmsley, Knight, one of the justices of the court of common pleas, and now belongs to a descendant of the late Robert Edward Lord Petre.
At a short distance south-west of Ribchester is SAMLESBURY, an extensive manor, which continued the property of the great family of Southworth for 350 years. The manor house was formerly moated round, and inclosed three sides of a large quadrangle. In the centre was the great Hall, “a noble specimen of most rude and massy wood-work, though repaired in 1532, by Sir Thomas Southworth, whose name it bears, is of very high antiquity, probably not later than Edward the Third. The remaining wing, which is built of wood towards the quadrangle, and brick without, (the earliest specimen of brick work in the parish), is of a later date. There is about this house a profusion and bulk of oak, that must almost have laid prostrate a forest to erect it. The principal timbers are carved with great elegance, and the compartments of the roof painted with figures of saints, while the outsides of the building are adorned with profile heads of wood cut in bold relief within huge medallions; it is curious to observe that the inner doors are without a pannel, or a lock, and have always been opened, like those of modern cottages, with a latch and a string. It is also remarkable, that in this house the boards of the upper floors, which are indeed massy planks, instead of crossing, lie parallel to the joysts, as if disdaining to be indebted to the other for support*.”
SALESBURY HALL, on the banks of the Ribble, nearly opposite Ribchester, has been successively the property of the Salesburies, Clitheroes, and Talbots, the last a branch from Bashall. This is the birth-place of Thomas Talbot, who, in the year 1580,
* History of Whalley, p. 474.
1580, was keeper of his Majesty's records in the Tower, and rendered assistance to Camden in furnishing him with a catalogue of Earls, for his Britannia. He also made considerable collections for the history of Yorkshire: some of these are deposited in the British Museum, and some in the Herald's office. In the epistle dedicatory to Mills' catalogue of honor, he is called “Limping Thomas Talbot, a great genealogist, and of excellent memory".” The remains of the Hall here, are partly wood and partly stone; and the whole formerly encompassed a quadrangular court. A piece of Roman sculpture of Apollo, from Ribchester, has been incorporated in one of the walls.
In a low situation, on the banks of the Calder, is GAwTHoRP, the ancient residence of the Shuttleworths, who were settled here as early as the time of Richard the Second. The house is an ancient embattled building, and, according to Dr. Whitaker, “combines the picturesque effect of the castellated mansion with some degree of internal lightness and convenience.” In the vicinity of this, is HUNTROYD, a modern mansion, in a fine romantic country, belonging to Legendie Piers Starkie, Esq.
LEYLAND HUNDRED is the smallest of the six subdivisions of this county, and has the river Ribble for its northern boundary, whilst West-Derby hundred forms its southern and south-western extremity; and the hundreds of Salford and Blackburne join it to the east and south-east. This hundred presents nearly a flat surface, and has portions of the Lancaster, and the Leeds and Liverpool canals passing across its eastern side. Three great turnpike roads from Wigan to Preston, and from Liverpool to the latter town, are also carried through it. Within this district is only one market town.
* See Gough's Topography, Vol.11. 397.
THIs town stands on the great turnpike road between Liverpool and Preston, near the source of a small rivulet, called the Chor, which gives its name to the place. The river Yarrow, rising in the moors to the east, flows near the town, and gives motion to numerous mills that are erected on its banks; these, with the printing, and bleaching grounds, for many miles round, intermixed with the cotton factories, conspire to communicate to the whole district an aspect of extreme bustle and industry. The church here, for it has been lately made parochial, and separated from the parish of Croston, is an ancient pile of building, the walls of which are studded with several coats of arms and old inscriptions, and the windows are decorated with various paintings.
The town consists of two lordships, which belong to different proprietors. Its police is governed by one magistrate, who, with one or more magistrates for the county, hold a petty sessions here, and at Rivington, near it, once a month alternately. The Bishop of Chester also holds a court here twice a year, by his steward or proxy. Chorley is a very improving place; and to render it more so, various clubs, and a building tontine, have been established, to encourage new erections, which the population of its vicinity, the plenty and cheapness of provisions, and abundance of materials for dwelling houses, with the numerous manufactories in the parish and neighbourhood, so naturally tend to support and encourage. The plenty of coals also, with lead, alum, sand, and marle, as well as the quarries of flag, slate, ashler, and millstones, procured here, and sent to various parts of the kingdom, by means of the Lancaster, and Leeds and Liverpool canals, which pass close to the town, are highly favourable to such speculations. In the year 1801, this town contained 4516 inhabitants, having at that time 840 inhabited houses, occupied by 920 families.
In the church-yard is a Grammar-School, which, though en
dowed with some legacies, has not any free scholars. An alms3 house,
house, for the support of six poor persons, and a prison have been erected in this town. Here are two weekly markets, and four annual fairs, which are much resorted to.
About one mile west of the town, is the site of GILLIBRAND HALL, the proprietor of which, Thomas Gillibrand, Esq. is Lord of one of the manors already mentioned. The old house, which was surrounded by a moat, has been recently taken down, and the foundation of a new mansion is just laid.
Near the village of Rivington is a lofty hill, noted for a high peak, or beacon, which served in the civil wars as a watch-tower, or signal post. From its commanding situation, and the extensive views obtained from it, many parties frequent this elevated spot during summer evenings. In the village is a free grammarschool, founded by James Pilkington, Bishop of Durham, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and endowed with lands situated in that bishopric.
At the distance of six miles, south of Chorley, is the township of STANDISH, where a family of the name of Standish appears to have been settled from a period soon after the conquest. Of this family was John Standish, Esq. who, according to Holinshed, was a servant to King Richard II. and distinguished himself by wounding Watt Tyler, in the memorable rencontre between him and the monarch, in Smithfield. For this service he, with the mayor and citizens who were then present, were knighted. Among other eminent persons in this family, was Sir Ralph Standish, who commanded an army in France under Henries the Fifth and Sixth; and Sir Alexander Standish, who was knighted for his valiant behaviour at the battle of Hopton-field, in Scotland, in 1482. Henry Standish also, who was made Bishop of St. Asaph, in 1519, accompanied Sir John Baker on an embassy to Denmark, in 1526; and, in 1530, was one of the bishops who assisted Queen Catherine in the suit concerning her divorce from Henry the Eighth. The living of Standish is a rectory worth more than 700l. per - annum,