« 前へ次へ »
hibition, the whole collection was dispersed by public auction in the year 1806.
About one mile north of Manchester is SMEDLEY-HALL, the seat and property of Major Hilton, who possesses it from the Chetham family. Near this is BRoughton-HALL, which was formerly the property of the Stanley family, and was purchased in 1699, by George Chetham, Esq. who built the old Hall here in 1706. His son James succeeded to the estate; but dying without issue, it passed (after the death of his sister, Ann Chetham, spinster,) to his cousin, Edward Chetham, Esq. of Smedley and Castleton, the last male descendant of this ancient family, who died a batchelor intestate in 1768, leaving two sisters; the youngest, Mary, married Samuel Clowes, Esq. of Chadwick, in this county, (great grandfather to the present possessor,) to whom, as co-heiress of her brother, this manor was allotted, with other considerable property, in 1769. The new Hall was built by the late Samuel Clowes, Esq.
TRAFFORD-House, or HALL, the seat of John Trafford, Esq. is seated on the southern bank of the river Irwell, about five miles west of Manchester. The house is a modern brick structure, cased with stucco. The Trafford family appears to have been settled in this county from the time of the conquest; and the name of Sir Ranulphus de Trafford is in the list of distinguished
warriors in the time of Canute. HEATON-House, a seat of the Earl of Wilton, is situated in a fine part of the county, at the distance of four miles north-east from Manchester. This estate is part of the township of LittleHeaton, and included in the parish of Prestwich. It came into the Egerton family in the reign of Queen Anne, when Sir John Egerton * of Egerton, married Elizabeth, daughter of William, and
and sister and sole heiress of Edward Holland, Esq. who, with his ancestors, inherited this estate, with another at Denton", in this county, for several generations. Sir Robert de Holland, Knight, of Holland, in this county, was, by King Edward the Second, created Lord Holland, and was summoned to parliament by writ among the Barons. This family had considerable possessions in the counties of Lancaster, Northampton, and Leicester; and one of them built Denton-chapel in the seventh year of Edward the Fourth. The present noble possessor of Heaton inherits it in regular descent from his great grandfather, the abovenamed Sir John Egerton. . The mansion here is a handsome modern structure, built of stone, from designs by the late Samuel Wyatt, Esq. It stands on a commanding situation, in the midst of a fine park, which abounds with venerable trees and numerous thriving plantations. In the centre of the south front is a semicircular piece of architecture, of the Ionic order, surmounted with a dome; and branching from the former, are two spacious colonades, connected and terminated with two octangular pavillions. The elevation of this front is at once simple and elegant, and commands some pleasing prospects of the home scenery and distant country. The interior arrangements are comfortably disposed, and elegantly furnished. At a short distance from the house, on a high spot of ground in the park, is a circular temple, which commands very extensive views into Yorkshire, Cheshire, Derbyshire, and Staffordshire +. The park includes an area of about five miles in circumference. This will be inclosed with a wall, and a new Doric Lodge is now building.
PRESTw 1CH, north of Manchester, is a large parish, which - embraces
* At this place is the old family mansion, still standing, but now in the occupation of a farmer.
f The annexed print will illustrate the preceding description, as the principle front of the house, with the temple, and the park-scenery, are ali represented in this small view.
embraces an area of about fifteen miles in length, by three in breadth. This, with Oldham, constitutes one Rectory, under which are seven chapelries.
Though recently advanced to a market town, is subordinate to the parish of Prestwich; but has a church, a chapel of the establishment, and some dissenting meeting-houses. This town is built on high ground, on a branch of the river Medlock, near its source; and the river Irk also commences its channel near this spot. The peculiar utility of these streams in carrying on the machinery, &c. of manufactories, has occasioned the erection of many; and an immense number of these, with connected houses, have been erected in this part of the county within the last twenty years. Another inducement to settlers, is the abundance of coal that is easily and cheaply obtained here. A free-school was founded here by James Asheton, Esq. of Chaderton. According to the population report, this town contained, in 1801, 1231 houses, and 12,024 inhabitants. About two miles north of Old
Royton, a chapelry to Prestwich, abounding with manufactures and coal-mines. In this township is Royton-HALL, the seat of Joseph Pickford, Esq. but formerly belonging to the Byron family, who had considerable landed property here. The house is pleasantly seated in a deep valley, surrounded by high hills. In the house is a circular stone stair-case, remarkable for its solidity and strength. -
CHADER to N-HALL, the seat of Sir Watts Horton, Bart. is a modern brick building, seated in a part of the country which is distinguished for its bold inequality of surface. The park, from this circumstance, abounds with picturesque scenery; and immeVol. IX. T diately
diately contiguous to the house are some fine pleasure grounds, with shrubberies, &c. The manors of Chaderton and Fox-Denton belonged to Geoffrey, second son of Richard de Trafford, in the time of Henry the Third.
Having been gradually increasing in size and population for some years, was constituted a town in the year 1791, when a grant was obtained from the crown for holding a weekly market on Friday, and three annual fairs. The manor, and chief landed property of the place belongs to Lord Suffield, who obtained them in marriage with Mary, eldest daughter and coheir of Sir Ralph Asheton, Bart *. The present possessor has erected a market-place, with shambles, also, warehouses, &c. in this town. The police is governed by two constables, who are annually chosen at the court-leet; and the parish, which contains seven or eight hamlets, is a rectory. In the church, a venerable pile of building, are deposited several of the Asheton't family, who for many centuries resided in this parish. In the church windows are several shields, with other subjects of painted glass. The side ailes to the church appear to have been built in 1554. They are embattled; and under the embrasures are shields with devices. A carved screen, of seven compartments, divides the chancel from the choir, on which are shields with the armorial bearings of the Ashetons, Rat
* This gentleman left two daughters, the youngest of whom married the present Earl of Wilton.
# Of this family was William Asheton, B. D. who was the last male heir, and who was rector of Prestwich in 1727, and at the same time held that of Carleton, in the county of Lincoln. This singular privilege was enjoyed by licence from Charles the Second, who was induced to grant his royal dispensation at the intreaty of Colonel John Asheton, who was in particular favour with the monarch.