« 前へ次へ »
more dunce, or dwarf; more unlearned, or unhandsome; insomuch that T. Walsingham tells us, that had the Pope ever seen him (as no doubt he felt him in his large fees) he would never have conferred the place upon him.” Mr. Gough, in his splendid work on “Sepulchral Monuments,” has given an engraved view of the brass plate”, which represents a castle, with a warrior standing as centinel at the entrance door, and the Bishop looking out of a large window above. In the church at Staunton are several monuments, with inscriptions to different persons of the Brudenell family, of whom was Robert Brudenell, Knight, Chief Justice of the Common Pleas, and the first of the family who inherited Staunton.
StockBRston is a small village, of old inclosure, in the south eastern angle of the county, part of which is in Rutlandshire. John de Boyville founded an hospital here, for a chaplain and three poor people, by licence from King Edward IV. in 1466, and obtained permission to settle lands upon them in mortmain, to the value of 10l. a year. This John de Boyville died in 1467, possessed of the lordships of Stockerston and Cranhoe, and other considerable property, which devolved to his three daughters and coheirs, who made partition of their father's lands, by deed dated May 17th, 8th Edward IV. Some of the windows in Stockerston church are ornamented with painted glass; among which are figures of saints, and other scripture illustrations.
WIstow, or, as written in old records, Wistanesto, Wystanstow, and Winstanton, from Wistan, “a reputed saint, or holy person, to whom the church is dedicated,” is a village about seven miles from Leicester, and nearly the same distance from Harborough. In this parish is Wistow Hall, formerly the seat of the Halford family, wherein Sir Richard Halford furnished King Charles
*Another plate of it, with some particulars respecting the Bishop, are given in Nichols's History of Leicestershire, Vol. II. p. 914, &c.
Charles the First with a place of refuge and retirement. He also -supplied the monarch with large sums of money, and sent his eldest , son, Andrew, with a number of men, whom he had raised and maintained at his own charge, to protect and attend his Majesty in Leicestershire, and the adjoining counties. In their excursions they took a party of the rebels prisoners, among whom was a person of the name of Flude, who was then High Constable of Guthlaxton hundred. These were all conveyed to the King's camp, where they were tried and hanged; and for which Sir Richard Halford was doomed to suffer severely. Oliver condemned him to die for the murder of these men; but his life was purchased, according to the statement of Sir William Halford, “for no less a sum than 30,000l.” In the Journals of the House of Commons, Vol. III. p. 572, is the following entry respecting this gentleman: “Resolved, upon the question, that Sir Richard Halford shall pay 5000l.; it appearing that he put the commission of array in execution in Leicestershire; hath been a main incendiary of the divisions between the king and parliament, and a continual prosecutor of good men; and hath not to this day shewed himself in any considerable matter that hath conduced to advance the proceedings of parliament. Hath 1800l. lands per annum, under his own stock; besides, he rents much, and stocks it himself; and therefore we hold him fit to pay the said 5000l.; his son's estate not being considered in this valuation.”—Again, in another entry, “August 16, 1645, Sir Richard Halford's fine of 2000l. was accepted for his delinquency.” Wistow-HALL is a marked feature in this part of the country, from the formal plantations which encompass the mansion. This consists of brick encased with stucco, and has in the principal front five gable pediments. The principal room is a large lofty hall, which extends nearly the whole length of the house. Here are PortRAIts of King Charles the First and his son, King CHARLEs the Second, and a few other pictures. This demesne now belongs to the Countess Dowager of Denbigh, who enjoys it for life, under the will of her first husband, Sir Charles Halford. In the church, which is contiguous to the mansion, are WOL. IX. G g some some monuments, with inscriptions to different persons of the Halford family. On one of these is an effigy of a knight in ar
mour, laying on his side, and resting his head on his right hand, with the following inscription:—
Here lyeth the body of SIR Rich ARD HALForp, K'.
and Baronn, eldest sonn of Edward Halford, of Lang
ham, in the covnty of Rvtland, Gent. He first mar
ried Isabel the daughter of George Bowman, of Med
bourn, in the covnty of Leicester, Gent. by whom he had issue two sons, Andrew & George, & one daughter Joan. Afterwards he married Joan, the relict of Thomas Adams, of Walden, in the covnty of Essex, Esq. He departed this life August 30th, Ano Dni 1658, Aged 78 years. Here also lye ye bodies of Andrew Halford, of Kilby, Esq. who departed yo life Septemb. 8th, An'o D'ni 1657, aged 55 yeares; and of George Halford of Torlanghton, Gent. who departed this life August 18, Ano D'ni 1659, Aged 54 yeares.”
guTHLAXTON HUNDRED assumes a wedge-like shape, with its narrow point running up nearly to the town of Leicester, and its broad end towards the south, abuting on the counties of Warwick and Northampton. Its western boundary is Sparkenhoe hundred, whilst the hundred of Gartre, bounds the eastern side. Mr. Nichols supposes that this hundred obtained its name from Saint Guthlac, a celebrated Anchorite, who resided at Croyland in Lincolnshire, and who acquired very eminent notoriety by pretended miracles, and other monkish impositions. This hundred formerly included that of Sparkenhoe, which was separated from it in the reign of King Edward the Third. It contains only one market town, Lutterworth, though, in the reign of King Henry the Third, a market was held at Ernesby (Arnesby). Parts of the two Roman roads, called Watling Street, and the Foss-Way, are attached to this hundred: the former constituting its boundary to the south west, and the latter divides it, for some distance, from the
the hundred of Sparkenhoe to the west. At, or near High Cross, where these roads intersected each other, Camden, and some other authors, have affixed the Roman station of Venomes, or Benones; and at Dowbridge was another station, or encampment. This hundred affords but little subject for the investigation and description of the antiquary and topographer. The hundred court for Guthlaxton is now annually held by the steward of the Lord Somers, at Kilby. This hundred is at present divided, as stated by Mr. Nichols, into the following town
ships, parishes, &c.
“Armesby, a vicarage. Ashby Magna, a vicarage. Ashby Parva, a rectory. Ayleston, a rectory; including the chapelries of Glen Parva and Lubbes-thorpe (in Sparkenhoe hundred). Bitteswell, a vicarage. Blaby, a rectory; including the chapelry of Countess-thorpe. Broughton Astley, a rectory; including the chapelry of Sutton, and the hamlet of Thorpe, otherwise Prince Thorpe. Brunting-thorpe, a rectory. The Castle View; an extra-parochial district. This is connected with the town of Leicester. . Cat-thorpe, a rectory. Claybrook, a rectory; including . Claybrook Magna and Parva, with the chapelries of
Bittesby, Wibtoft, and Wigston Parva ; and the hamlet of Ulles-thorpe. Cosby, a vicarage; including the chapelry of Little-Thorpe. . Cottesbach, a rectory. Dunton Basset, a vicarage. Enderby, [in Sparkenhoe hundred] a vicarage, with the chapelry of Whetstone, in Guthlaxton hundred. Foston, a rectory. Frolesworth, a rectory. Gilmorton, a rectory. Kilby, a chapelry of Wistow. Kilworth, North, a rectory. Kilworth, South, a rectory. Kimcote, a rectory; with the chapelry of Walton, and hamlet of Cotes-Devile. Knaptoft, a rectory, with the chapelries of Mousely and Shearsby, and the hamlet of Walton. Knighton,
Knighton, a chapelry to the
Peatling Parva, a rectory.
At the southern extremity of this hundred is CAT-THoRPE, a village, which is situated on the side of a gentle eminence, and commands a view of a pleasant valley, through which the river Avon winds its course. Over this stream, about three-quarters of a mile south-west of the village, is Dowbridge, or Dovebridge, near the Tripontium" of Antoninus. Dr. Stukeley describes the bridge as “placed in a sweet little valley, with the sides pretty steep. The stream here divides into two, with a bridge over each; upon one a stone inscription, very laconic, shewing the three counties that repair it. Hard by antiquities have been found, both at Cat-thorpe and Lilburn, one on the north, the other on the south side of the river; so that the Roman city stood on both sides. Castle-hills, a place of Lilburn, where are some old walls +.” Vestiges of encampments appear both on the Northamptonshire and on the Leicestershire sides. The Roman road passed through the middle of an encampment, which, Mr. Ireland says, “was indisputably the Roman station mentioned by Antoninus, in his journey from London to Lincoln, under the de- nomination
• Camden assigns this station to Towcester; Horsley places it at Buckley's and Dr. Henry fixes it at Rugby.
Stukeley's Itinerary, Vol. I. p. 112,