Lancelot-Grail: The Old French Arthurian Vulgate and Post-Vulgate in Translation, 第 5 巻

Norris Lacy
Boydell & Brewer, Limited, 2010 - 3648 ページ
The most comprehensive account of the story of Arthur, the Round Table and the Grail is to be found in the work known as Lancelot-Grail or the Vulgate Cycle. It tells the story of the Arthurian world from the events of the Crucifixion, where the Grail originated, to the death of Lancelot after the destruction of the Round Table. It draws in many different strands, from the pseudo-historical stories about Arthur to the romances of chivalric adventure and the spiritual quest for the Grail. It consists of five works: the longest is Lancelot, a kind of chivalric history of the Round Table, which leads into the quest for the Grail and Arthur's death. The first two books were added later, and provide an account of events up to Arthur's birth. Not long after the cycle was completed, another writer retained the first two books of the Vulgate cycle but recast the last three books with a rather different emphasis; this version is known as the Post-Vulgate Cycle, and is one of the main sources used by Sir Thomas Malory. Available as a ten volume set or a single volumes.

レビュー - レビューを書く

Lancelot-Grail: the Old French Arthurian Vulgate and post-Vulgate in translation

ユーザー レビュー  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This is the first volume of five that will present the Vulgate and post-Vulgate cycle of Arthurian tales together in English for the first time. Written early in the 13th century, these Old French ... レビュー全文を読む

他の版 - すべて表示